Food, health, Lifestyle

A Colombian Comfort Food; Changua

By Rupal Ganatra

It was raining heavily outside today, and together with a craving for hot comfort food, came the realization that I couldn’t walk to the shops… I reviewed the contents of my pantry, and wondered could one make soup with milk and eggs?

It turns out that not only can one do that, but it is simple delicious comfort in a bowl ☺️. Inspired by the Colombian recipe for Changua; milk & egg soup, I headed into my wee kitchen and whipped up a batch.

cooking-phase

Make it, you won’t regret it! It’s absolutely delicious. Sadly the eggs broke, and I didn’t get that golden poached yolk goodness, but it tasted amazing nevertheless!

I used this recipe, but made a few tweaks with the ingredients on hand:

NB: The original calls for equal parts milk and water, but I upped the milk.

https://www.google.com/…/hungrysof…/2010/10/01/changua/amp/…

Ingredients:

Half a large finely chopped onion
1 clove minced garlic
A generous pinch of dried sweet basil (as I didn’t have fresh herbs)
1.5 cups milk
1 cup water
2 large eggs
Salt & pepper to taste

I followed the recipe as above, just adding my sweet basil to the garlic and onion and sautéing the mixture together.

I toasted some bread, and added croutons on top.

Enjoy!

About Rupal: I am the director of My World Preschools, a writer, amateur blogger, rebel poet, holistic healer, alternate universe explorer, and an intermittent wannabe expert on every new passion that catches my fancy (soaping, chocolate making, scrubbing, and baking… the only thing I’m missing is the candle stick making! 😂). Welcome to my world!

This recipe was originally published on the Rupal’s cooking adventure page on Facebook, A Cooking Phase. 

Leave a Reply

